Herbal Beef Stew – what a Sunday treat

Those who grew up with me know that I have never been a big cook. Growing up, my older sister always helped out in the kitchen with  my  mom, and today she is an excellent cook. Whenever I have a chance to go visit, I have a list of Korean foods that I am craving and I’m never disappointed. I always got the sous-sous chef jobs, like chopping onions and peeling potatoes. At one point my sister even accused me of doing a bad job intentionally so I don’t have to do it again.

I don’t know what changed, or when it changed, but food is now an integral part of my life. If not even the main part of my life! I love being in the kitchen and whipping something together. Spending some time with  my iPad in the bed planning meals on pinterest. Today I even made a beef stew!

Moral of this short story? It’s never too late to start cooking (and beef stew is verrrry delicious)! 😉

Herbal Beef Stew (for 2-4, depends on how hungry you are!)

Ingredients:

beef stew recipe

– 1 pound beef, cut into chunks
– 1/8 cup rice flour
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 1 tbsp butter
– 2 garlic cloves, minced
– 1 white onion, diced
– 1 glass of red wine (I used Shiraz)
– 3 cups beef stock
– 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce (alternatively soy sauce and chili flakes)
– 2 sprigs of rosemary
– 1 tsp dried oregano
– 1 large potato, diced
– 2 large carrots, sliced
– 1/2 cup diced celeriac

Method:

beef stew recipe

 

beef stew recipe

1. Mix the rice flour, with some pepper and salt (about 1 tsp). Add the beef and cover the chunks well with the flour mix.
2. Pour olive oil in a large pan, and once hot add the butter, then the beef. Cook until brown from both sides.
3. Add garlic and onion and cook until translucent.
4. Add wine and cook for another minute, then add beef stock, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary and oregano.
5. Bring to a boil and once boiling, simmer for about 30minutes.
6. Add the potatoes, celeriac and carrots and simmer for another 40minutes.

beef stew recipe

 

beef stew recipe

Leave a Reply

